About Us

Real Estate Advisory Committee

The Real Estate Advisory Committee is established by the Real Estate Advisory Committee Regulation (M.R. 593/88) under The Real Estate Brokers Act.

The Committee reviews and recommends projects to The Manitoba Securities Commission for funding from the interest which the Commission receives from real estate brokers’ trust accounts.

The Real Estate Brokers Act and M.R. 593/88 describe the projects that may be approved for funding:

  • educational programs relating to the real estate industry and the objectives of the Act;
  • not-for-profit initiatives to promote affordable home ownership and area revitalization;
  • real estate research and legislative reform;
  • the study and improvement of real estate business practice; and
  • other projects designed to further the objectives of the Act.

The Committee is comprised of five members recommended by The Manitoba Real Estate Association and appointed by The Manitoba Securities Commission. They serve without pay for two-year terms and may be re-appointed for one or more additional terms.

The membership of the Committee must comprise the following categories of individuals:

  • three brokers/authorized officials
  • one real estate salesman
  • a public representative.

A chairperson is selected from among the members of the Committee and calls and presides at Committee meetings. The Executive Director of The Manitoba Real Estate Association acts as secretary and has no voting privileges.

Recommendations for funding are made to The Manitoba Securities Commission by the Chairperson through the Registrar of The Real Estate Brokers Act.

The current members of the Committee are:

  • Cliff King, Broker, Re/Max Executives Realty (Chair)
  • Miriam Munn, Broker, Royal LePage/Martin-Liberty Realty
  • Shirley Przybyl, Broker, Century 21 Bachman & Associates
  • Ute Vann, Salesperson, Royal LePage Dynamic Real Estate
  • Rev. Bill Gillis, Public Member